Monday, January 24, 2022

Interview With Melissa Dassori!



Hi, everyone! Today I'm happy to present an interview with Melissa Dassori, author of J.R. Silver Writes Her World, which releases in July!

Would you please describe your book, JR Silver Writes Her World, in seven words?

I'm going to go with Ms: magic, middle school, magazines, Manhattan, Metropolitan Museum

What was the inspiration for the book?

J.R. Silver was inspired by an assignment from my fourth grade teacher who had a huge collection of New Yorker magazine covers that we used as story writing prompts. In my book, those stories come to life.

Random Question! What’s your favorite color?

forest green

What’s one piece of advice you would give aspiring authors?

Embrace the journey! I was too reserved for too long when it came to reaching out to fellow writers, finding critique partners, taking classes and the like because I wasn't quite ready to call myself a writer. But just go for it and start to build your community and skills--you'll have more fun and be more productive that way, or I least I would have been.

What are some books you’re looking forward to reading in 2022? And if you’ve already read some ‘22 books, would you like to mention them?

I am really looking forward to Karen Chow's MIRACLE, Nicole Collier's JUST RIGHT JILLIAN, and Sally Engelfried's LEARNING TO FALL. 2022 books I've recently read and loved include Sonja Thomas's SIR FIG NEWTON AND THE SCIENCE OF PERSISTENCE and Alyssa Colman's THE TARNISHED GARDEN



Author Bio: Melissa Dassori lives in New York City with her husband and three daughters, with whom she especially likes to enjoy books, travel, time outside and ice cream. Melissa’s middle grade debut, J.R. SILVER WRITES HER WORLD, will be published on July 19, 2022 by Christy Ottaviano Books/Little, Brown BYR. An assignment from her own fourth grade teacher inspired the story, although Melissa couldn’t conjure the same magical results that J.R. Silver can.

Here Are A Few Links:



Review: His Lessons on Love (A Logical Man's Guide to Dangerous Women #3)!

Review: His Lessons on Love (A Logical Man's Guide to Dangerous Women #3) by Cathy Maxwell 

New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell’s delicious Logical Man’s Guide to Dangerous Women series continues with this provocative romance between a reprobate earl and a sensible spinster who agree to marry under scandalous circumstances. Perfect for fans of Sophie Jordan and Sabrina Jeffries.

Lesson #1: A man, even titled and handsome, cannot be careless forever.

The Earl of Marsden—better known as Mars to all—has lived his life by his own rules... until he is presented with a very big problem in a very tiny package—a baby girl, his daughter, cast off by his ex-mistress. Mars won’t let his child be cast adrift, except he doesn’t know the first thing about babies.

Panicking, he turns to a woman for help. Not just any woman, but Clarissa Taylor, village spinster, matron-in-training, and Mars’s greatest critic. Still, who better to tend a motherless child than a woman who was abandoned as a babe herself?

Lesson #2: Life always plays the upper hand—especially when it comes to love.

Clarissa desperately wishes to not to be beholden to anyone. She has spent a lifetime being pitied by the village. Her plan is simple—to use what the intolerable earl will pay her to become her own woman. It all sounds so straightforward until the threat of scandal sends her and the one man she can’t abide toward... marriage?

Mars and Clarissa are about to learn the greatest lesson of all—that sparks always fly when the iron is hot.

-summary and cover via Goodreads

Plot: I loved the plot! Reading about Clarissa and Mars going from extreme dislike of each other to acceptance to love was such a nice read! And there was a twist I did not see coming at all!

Characters: I loved all the characters! Clarissa was a great lead, and I absolutely loved Mars! The matrons were great, and I loved their meddling in everything!

The Cover: I like it!

Overall: This was a fantastic Historical Romance novel, that I absolutely loved! I would highly recommend it to any romance fans!

I received an e-ARC from the publisher.

Sunday, January 23, 2022

Interview With Susan Lee!


Hi, everyone! Today I'm happy to present an interview with Susan Lee, author of Seoulmates, which releases in September!

Would you please describe your book, Seoulmates, in seven words?
Childhoold-friends-to-lovers with K-drama flair. (8?) :)
 
Jacob is starring in a K-drama, so I have to ask, what are some of your favorite K-dramas?
I have SO many favorites. But the ones I think fit the swoony vibes of my book include True Beauty, Hometown Cha Cha Cha, Our Beloved Summer, and Romance Is A Bonus Book. 
 
Random Question! Your bio mentions your bias is V, so I also have to ask this! What is your favorite BTS song?
You are really asking the impossible questions! :) My favorite song for this book is “Spring Day”…it’s on my playlist. My favorite lesser known song is “Hold Me Tight” (co-written by my boy, V!)  My favorite song performed live is “Idol”. And my favorite line from a song is from “ON”…”Can’t hold me down ‘cause you know I’m a fighter”. (I swear I’m gonna get that tattooed on me at some point!)

What’s one piece of advice you would give aspiring authors?
Focus on YOUR story. This industry can really play with your head and trying to guess what agents, editors, readers want is paralyzing. Writers need to tell their story in their hearts, in their minds…that has to be first and foremost or you’ll so easily get lost in the expectations of others. 

What are some books you’re looking forward to reading in 2022? And if you’ve already read some ‘22 books, would you like to mention them?
2022 is so FULL of exciting books. I’ll focus on those debuting this year! Some of my favorites so far (mind you, I am a big Romance reader!): A BRUSH WITH LOVE by Mazey Eddings, A LITTLE BIT COUNTRY by Brian D. Kennedy, SOME MISTAKES WERE MADE by Kristin Dwyer, LOVE FROM SCRATCH by Kaitlyn Hill, THE NOH FAMILY by Grace Shim…and throwing 2 of my most anticipated non-debut books out there: SOMETHING WILDER by Christina Lauren and BOOK LOVERS by Emily Henry! 


Photo Credit: Sylvie Rosokoff

Author Bio: Susan Lee has built a career as a Human Resources executive at successful startups such as Spotify and Warby Parker. Her biggest job takeaway: we are all, for the most part, ridiculous. And she channels this into her writing of light-hearted, quirky novels about the oftentimes hilarious human condition. Susan is a 2018 PitchWars alum, a 2019 & 2020 PitchWars mentor, a 2019 Romance Writers of America Golden Heart® winner, and an avid K-pop and K-drama fan. Her bias is V/Taehyung, which for those in the know, explains it all.

Here Are A Few Links:



Saturday, January 22, 2022

Interview With Karina Evans!



Hi, everyone! Today I'm happy to present an interview with Karina Evans, author of Grow Up, Tahlia Wilkins!, which releases in April!

Would you please describe your book, Grow Up, Tahlia Wilkins!, in seven words?

Best friend buddy comedy + first period adventure. 

Did you always want to be a writer?

Yes! I've always wanted to be a storyteller in some capacity.

Random Question! What is your favorite TV show?

Succession! 

What’s one piece of advice you would give aspiring authors?

Write what brings you joy.

What are some books you’re looking forward to reading in 2022? And if you’ve already read some ‘22 books, would you like to mention them?

Too many to list them all!!!!!! Here is a lil snippet:

For MG:
THE PRINCE OF NOWHERE by Rochelle Hassan
FREDDIE VS. THE FAMILY CURSE  by Tracy Badua
Shad Hadid and the Alchemists of Alexandria by George Jreije

For YA:
REMEMBER ME GONE by Stacy Stokes
This Vicious Grace by Emily Thiede
Love from Scratch  by Kaitlyn Hill



Author BioKarina Evans studied English at the University of Delaware before going into a career in the entertainment industry. She currently lives in Los Angeles, California, and Grow Up, Tahlia Wilkins! is her first novel. You can visit her online at karinaevans.com

Here Are A Few Links:



Friday, January 21, 2022

Interview With Melissa See!



Hi, everyone! Today I'm happy to present an interview with Melissa See, author of You, Me, and Our Heartstrings, which releases in July!

Would you please describe your book, You, Me, and Our Heartstrings, in seven words?

Disabled musicians find love and go viral.

Did you always want to write YA books?

Yes, I did!

Random Question! What’s your favorite time of year?

I always thought it was exclusively fall, but now I realize that I love fall and winter equally, especially the holiday season!

What’s one piece of advice you would give aspiring authors?

Find critique partners who both give you great feedback and equally amazing friendship!

What are some books you’re looking forward to reading in 2022? And if you’ve already read some ‘22 books, would you like to mention them?

I've already read FULL FLIGHT by Ashley Schumacher and it was brilliant!

As for some more 2022 books that I'm excited for:

A LITTLE BIT COUNTRY by Brian D. Kennedy
DEEP IN PROVIDENCE by Riss M. Neilson
ONE FOR ALL by Lillie Lainoff
THE STARDUST THIEF by Chelsea Abdullah
FORWARD MARCH by Skye Quinlan
OPHELIA AFTER ALL by Racquel Marie
IT SOUNDS LIKE THIS by Anna Meriano
WELL TRAVELED by Jen DeLuca




Author Bio: Melissa See is a disabled author of young adult contemporary romances. She currently lives in the New York countryside where she’s pursuing her education to work in children’s publishing. When not writing, she can be found reading, baking cookies, or curled up with her cat, most likely watching anime or 90 Day FiancĂ©. Her work has previously appeared in Anime Impact: The Movies & Shows that Changed the World of Japanese Animation.

Here Are A Few Links: